Book Tour: Shire's Union Trilogy by Richard Buxton


Welcome to The Book’s Delight and a stop on Richard Buxton’s Coffee Pot Book Tour for his American Civil War Trilogy.

 The Details:

Book Title: Trilogy consisting of:

Whirligig (Book #1)

The Copper Road (Book #2)

Tigers in Blue (Book #3)

Series: Shire’s Union

Author: Richard Buxton

Publication Date:

WG = 22/3/2017

TCR = 26/7/2020

TIB = 8/12/2023

Publisher: Ocoee Publishing

Page Length:

WG = 479

TCR = 421

TIB = 424

Genre: American Historical Fiction



Shire leaves his home and his life in Victorian England for the sake of a childhood promise, a promise that pulls him into the bleeding heart of the American Civil War. Lost in the bloody battlefields of the West, he discovers a second home for his loyalty. 

Clara believes she has escaped from a predictable future of obligation and privilege, but her new life in the Appalachian Hills of Tennessee is decaying around her. In the mansion of Comrie, long hidden secrets are being slowly exhumed by a war that creeps ever closer. 

The Shire’s Union trilogy is at once an outsider’s odyssey through the battle for Tennessee, a touching story of impossible love, and a portrait of America at war with itself. Self-interest and conflict, betrayal and passion, all fuse into a fateful climax. 

Written by award winning author Richard Buxton, the Shire’s Union trilogy begins with Whirligig, is continued in The Copper Road, and concludes with Tigers in Blue.

 Buy Links:

 Universal Buy Links for individual titles:




 Trilogy Amazon Buy Links:



 Author Bio:


Richard lives with his family in the South Downs, Sussex, England. He completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University in 2014. He has an abiding relationship with America, having studied at Syracuse University, New York State, in the late eighties. He travels extensively for research, especially in Tennessee, Georgia and Ohio, and is rarely happier than when setting off from a motel to spend the day wandering a battlefield or imagining the past close beside the churning wheel of a paddle steamer. 

Richard’s short stories have won the Exeter Story Prize, the Bedford International Writing Competition and the Nivalis Short Story Award. His first novel, Whirligig (2017) was shortlisted for the Rubery International Book Award. It was followed by The Copper Road (2020) and the Shire’s Union trilogy was completed by Tigers in Blue (2023). To learn more about Richard’s writing visit 


Follow Richard on Social Media: 

Website      Twitter     Facebook     Instagram     Book Bub     Amazon Author Page:



Popular Posts